I Come Bearing A Table!

Hi, all.  Well, if Twitter didn’t tip you off, my schedule has been working fine thus far.  I proudly present the fruits of my labour below in a pretty table:

 

So there’s no confusion, the first column is the hours working, the central column is the number of pages completed and the right-hand column is the number of words written.  I wrote eight A4 sheets in fifteen hours.  Not sure what other people average, but I’m pretty happy with it for now.

Here’s the thing though: I’ve just seen a book which casually throws out the figure, “three pages per day.”  Now, don’t worry, no-one out there needs to take it upon themselves to usher me to one side and gently explain that people write at different speeds.  However, since I’m a bit pressed for time this week – I’m spring-cleaning and having a friend over for a couple of nights – I reckon I’ll attempt this target myself.  Not sure what constitutes a page in this context (a standard book page or an A4 page?) but I’ll attempt A4s and see what happens.

I’ll let you know how I get on.  I’m sorry I’m only offering a quick post today, but I’ll hopefully write a follow-up sometime this week.  I just saw that warm, bright sunshine and had the strongest urge to… hole myself up indoors and reorganise old university work.

Hmm.  That isn’t healthy.

2 responses to “I Come Bearing A Table!

  • GJ Scobie

    Thanks for the follow! I’m currently spending April writing out a draft so I’m aiming for 15,000 words a week which given I’m away 12 hours a day due to commute and work is about my limit. The important thing is to get the story down first. After that it is all about editing and rewrites. Good luck 🙂

    • writeofinitiation

      That’s okay. Thanks for the comment. 🙂 Wow, you’ve sure set the bar high! The one full week I’ve had after making this table I still only managed 4,000. Thanks for the tip. You’re right, of course, it is about getting through the first draft. Next week I’ll shoot for 10,000 and see what happens!

Leave a Reply

