We’re Going To Need A Bigger Graph

As I said last week, I have been exploring ideas for the novel through all manner of mediums.  It’s been a jumpy start, getting back into writing content for the novel, but today – right now, in fact – I am going to open the grid from which I’ve been hiding and update my word count.  Ready, set…

Ouch.  Not as bad as I thought, though.  That’s why you make your rows thin, it makes it look better when you end up missing a couple of weeks!

I have been thinking that I’d like to include planning and other creative processes in this graph as well.  I think I am in a place where I can slowly push through Chapter Five.  However, progress comes in many different forms.  I may not have written much of the actual novel this last couple of weeks, but I’ve written and drawn over twenty-five pages in my trusty black notebook.   I’ve been focusing on plot development, drawing maps, doing research on all sorts of odd things to expand the horizons of the universe I’ve created.  It’s just a shame it isn’t reflected in my figures.  For all anyone else knows, I could have been eating crayons and bum shuffling up and down the stairs all month.

As such, I’m not declaring this as part of my (pretend) annual leave from writing, and I’m going to start measuring the other book-related work I do.  However, it is time to toughen up on myself.  This weekend is shaping up to be quiet and relaxing.  Quiet and relaxing enough to work.

Oh, and another thing.  It’s performance review time…

2 responses to “We’re Going To Need A Bigger Graph

Leave a Reply

